Day 4: Hash it out

Posted: March 5, 2012 in Recipes, Uncategorized, Whole30
Tags: , , , ,

Sunday, glorious Sunday.  A slow starting, newspaper reading, brunch eating day of perfection. Unless you have to work. I usually find myself in the second half of that statement, but not today! A day off is a day off, but a Sunday off is a gift from the heavens. So what better way to celebrate than Sunday Hash and Eggs.

Now I’m sure you may have noticed the lack of WOD at the top of this post, and well the last two post to be exact. Let’s just say wearing heals has turned out to be more painful than the dirty 30. I have decided to give myself the weekend in an effort to recuperate my feet. So back to the burpees on Monday. Today my mind will be crossfitting as I watch the 2011 games over some hash.

What’s for Brunch:

Sweet Potato and Sausage Hash aka:

What Sunday Morning should taste like

 Serves 4, 20 Minutes

Inspired by I Cook Free, today is a homemade pork sausage and sweet potato hash that allowed me to FINALLY use the nifty shredder attachment for my Kitchen Aid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What you need:

1lb Pork Sausage (browned up all nice like)

1 large Sweet Potato (grated)

1/2 Onion (chopped)

3 Cloves Garlic (minced)

Coconut Oil

Eggs

*Seasoning if you went my route and turned ground pork into pork sausage.

How to do it: 

First you want to get your meat browning. I didn’t have pork sausage proper so I scrambled 1lb of ground pork and added the following seasonings to taste: crushed red pepper, fennel salt, paprika, black pepper, and cayenne.  While your meat is cooking, get your sweet potato grated and onion chopped. Depending on how much fat is in your pan from the meat, you may need to add a touch of coconut oil. Toss in your onion and garlic once meat is just about done and saute for 2-3 minutes. Finally, add the sweet potato and allow to cook for 6-8, flipping once to get it crispy all around. Once your sweet potato is tender, it’s ready! Do your eggs as you please and have a Happy Sunday!

 

Leave a Reply

